Skip to content

Review #2: 13 Little Blue Envelopes

January 30, 2011

Review 2 - 13 Little Blue Envelopes

“If you don’t know where you’re going, any road will take you there.”
— George Harrison

I’ve always wanted to travel. Mostly to Europe, though anywhere would be nice. I don’t get to do a lot of travelling because of my parents’ jobs and my schooling, but I enjoy what we manage to fit in. While I wait for the time when I can travel on my own, I use books to sate the adventurous side of me.

This is one of those books.

Our protagonist for this book is Ginny (and I do confess I would picture Ginny Weasley in the role, from time to time). She received 13 letters from her runaway aunt, and was instructed to open them one at a time, only after completing the task set out in the last letter. Thanks to these letters, our New Jersey hero takes off for Europe, where she’ll find plenty of adventure, and maybe some romance too.

I enjoyed this book a lot, though I had my issues with the pacing – which is probably how it’s meant to be, considering the plot. As something of a romantic as well as a wannabe traveller, this was definitely suited to my tastes. It provided me with that feeling that any good travel/ adventure book should – somehow managing to both slake my thirst for adventure, and make me want it more. It’s one of those books that makes me want to live, and I appreciate that.

While I’m sure there are plenty of adults who would enjoy this book, I do think it’s better suited to teens. That self-conscious awkwardness that Ginny has going on seems like something you’re supposed to grow out of, not a life-long trait. I could be wrong. It’s not as if I’ve grown up yet.

Overall a good book, with enough twists and turns to keep me interested, and a few travel tips along the way. (Tip: don’t pack squeaky sneakers.)

8/10

The next book on my pile is Sarah Dessen’s That Summer.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment