Skip to content

Review #10: This Book Has Feelings

May 19, 2011

Review 10 - This Book Has Feelings

I don’t want to be at the mercy of my emotions. I want to use them, to enjoy them, and to dominate them.
– Oscar Wilde

I found this book while browsing the shelves of Chapters. It seemed interesting enough, as I find both psychology and philosophy to be fascinating subjects, both of which I’d ideally like to study in more depth in the future. I thought this book might combine the two areas of study in interesting ways, and I was prepared to learn and enjoy it.

Not so much on that one. This book seemed to be aimed at people who knew less than I did about both subjects, and I didn’t appreciate that in the least. The sections were colour-coded and the illustrations were clearly meant to be childish. Combined with the attempt to talk about psychology and philosophy in layman’s terms and what I felt to be some rather incorrect conclusions based on given data.

The book was disappointing to me at best. While I recognise that the style might appeal to some people, as someone who has actually attempted to learn something about psychology, it did nothing for me. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend it at all.

My next review will likely be a general review of the Oedipus plays by Sophocles, since I’ve finally finished reading all of them.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment